Paula Patton Finds The Term “Bi-Racial” Offensive.

Actress Paula Patton, known for her appearances in “Idlewild”, “Deja Vu”, and “Precious”, has some strong opinions about the term “Bi-Racial.” In an interview with Women’s Health magazine here’s what the actress had to say:

“I find[the term biracial] offensive. Its a way for people to separate themselves from African-Americans. A way of saying I’m better
than that.
I’m black because that’s the way the world sees me. People aren’t calling Barack Obama biracial. Most people think there’s a black president. People judged me because I was light-skinned. They’d [assume] I didn’t want to be part of the black race.” – Paula Patton.

-“The BklynBandette.” Mr. Hollywood’s Co-Defendant.

3 thoughts on “Paula Patton Finds The Term “Bi-Racial” Offensive.

  1. I am a BLACK woman, and I have a BIRACIAL grandson. I love the fact that my Baby lives next door to his Anglo(whiteI) family. Kade speaks and is corrected when his diction is incorrect in a very difficult environment. Biracial is not a bad term it is descriptive of two positives.

  2. Being BiRacial can mean Irish and Mexican. I don’t think the term is offensive, but I get what Paula is saying. I love her.. Very talented woman:)

  3. Pingback: Mixed-race Paula Patton Says She is Black, Not Biracial

Leave a comment